Screen Printing

A technique that I have recently learnt that I’m very excited to use for Outside/Inside is Screen Printing. This week I have spent a few hours in the Screen Printing studio taking part in a field project called Light is Colour. During this time I have learnt quite a bit about making and cleaning off your own silk screens and also how to screen print. During my A-Levels I learnt a little bit about screen printing in Textiles but I used Silk screens pre made with designs and not my own. I am very excited to be able to work in facilities where I am able to create my own Silk screen and will be taking full advantage of this.

As I am working on quite a small scale for Outside/Inside; my designs I am hoping will be able to include layering with screen printing. In my Pinterest board (linked below) I have saved a variety of screen prints made by other artists who use screen printing with a layering technique. I really like the way this looks and the clash of colours on some pieces makes the prints look very effective. My screen prints I think may be on playing card size or may be even in match stick box fold out books.

Leave a Reply

