Field Artist – Melanie Bowles

Melanie Bowles is a Textile Design artist who is one of the artists that have inspired me through the field project weeks.

I have chosen Bowles work as one of my main inspirations (as well as Kate  Gibb) during most of field her work has helpd lead me to the idea that I have for my Field Week Individual Final Piece.

One of the reason I have chosen Bowles work is of course the use of colour that she uses in her work. I really like the bright, luminous colours that she uses for her pieces as they give them a very cheerful and happy vibe. I also like how she uses them in different patterns wether it’s dott work or solid coloured shapes this technique helps to build on the layered effect.

For my Final Project Outcome for Field I want to create a layered design like this that will turn a flat surface into something quite three-dimensional when looking. I really like this idea as I enjoy that Bowles work is on a flat surface Material but it doesn’t look flat the pieces themselves have a layered depth to them and this is because of the colour placement and textures she has created.

Another asspect of Bowles work that I like that the background of the white Material is almost always covered but still has parts showing through. I think this is quite effective as it helps to give the pieces a busy look and also keep them bright. It also helps to make the design look less flat.

1 thought on “Field Artist – Melanie Bowles”

Leave a Reply

