Piet Mondrian

IMG_0141

Piet Mondrian was a Dutch painter that contributed to the De Stijl and Modern art movement and group. One of the reasons I am looking at Mondrian’s work is because I really enjoy the Artist work from this art movement and also because his work can be related to the ideas I have for my final piece for my field project about light.

Composition with Red, Blue and Yellow

What I really like about the piece above are the colours Mondrian have used. In all of Mondrian’s pieces that are similar to the one shown above the three primary colours (red, yellow and blue) are always included and are always the stronger, bolder colours that project from the surface more dominantly than the rest. This is quite an effective look and the thick and thin black framing around each colour is also another good way to help each colour jump out of you like an illusion. Having the colours be able to project without using a white background I find is quite impressive in my opinion. Using white in the background of a piece helps to highlight the intensity of the colour next to it as it is very bright but using very pale colours like the baby blue and lilac have created a very similar effect.

For my final piece for field I would like to create three or four A5 pieces that are based around block colours. The colours I want to use are red, yellow, blue and green. I have chosen these colours as they are all very bright and pigmented colours and the contrast of each I think will look really good as a collection. On top of the block colours I am planning to use light and objects to create shadows onto the paper and drawing them like one of the field projects I completed called ‘Silhouetted Still Lives’. After doing this I want to cut away from the paper and create gaps of which you can see the block colours through when layered on top of each other. I really like this idea and think it will work well. This relates to the field work as I am using light to create shadows and also because I am using different colours and light is colour.

 

 

1 thought on “Piet Mondrian”

Leave a Reply

