Still Life

Above is a still life I created using different textured paper, ink and acrylic paint. I went to a few of my local beaches at home which included Jennycliff beach and also Wembury beach. Whilst walking along the beaches I found quite a few objects that had been washed up by the sea. This included large rope, rust hooks,and old umbrella and also an old rust shovel. I collected these items and took them home to creat a still life. In my still life I wanted to capture the rusty tones and also the rusted texture so I used different inks and also layered different textured paper before starting this piece.

Overall I’m really pleased with how this has turned out. I usually go for a more abstract look if I’m every painting something with ink or acrylic but when doing this I think I was able to capture the shape of the objects well. What I really like the most about this piece is how the textured paper looks underneath the inks. I think this give some it a very textured look and also makes it seem less flat.

 

Leave a comment